We’ve all been there, phoning a company to be told by their automated menu system:
“This call may be monitored for quality and training purposes.”

Call me cynical, but I doubt many companies actually follow through on this. Perhaps they record the enraged customers, and play them back at parties for a good laugh. I just don’t hear any improvements in customer support from many companies.

So, in keeping with my penchant for V’s “People should not fear their governments; governments should fear their people”, here’s perhaps one way that consumers can really make a difference in the companies they deal with.

“Your call may be recorded for quality and training purposes. … Hello, thank you for calling MegaCorp inc., you’re through to Sarah, how may I help you?”

“Hello Sarah, my name is Matt Gumbley, and before discussing my problem, I heard that you’ll be recording this for quality and training purposes – I’d like to state I will also be blogging a summary of my experiences with MegaCorp, inc. in this matter. I hope this won’t be a problem for a company with the reputation of MegaCorp, one who takes such a pro-active stance on excellent customer relations? You see, my blog has a wide readership, and I’m often asked for recommendations of suppliers and products; my readers want to know which companies to trust, and which would give them shoddy treatment(*). I won’t be mentioning your name personally, of course, but as a MegaCorp’s customer service department, you represent your company.”

I am curious to see whether this strategy would work.

* I should wish!

